Spicy Lentil Soup + Sprouting Lentils

Entrees

lentil soup
Last nights dinner: spicy lentil soup

I love lentils. They are my new favorite food. I’ve even got some set aside to sprout!

Sprouting lentils is extremely easy & so good for you. I was intimidated for a while, but I did some research on sprouting and it’s actually very simple! All I did was put about ½ c of dry lentils in a strainer and I rinsed them with water from the faucet 3 different times yesterday. In between rinses I just set the strainer on the counter so that they stay moist, but not waterlogged.

It’s that easy.

And I already have little sprouts!!!

sprouted lentils
Back to the soup.

I enjoyed this soup so much I’ve decided to add it to the list of meal prep ideas for when school starts. I plan on doubling this recipe (5 servings) and storing each soup in its own individual mason jar. I could pack the lentil soup along with avocado slices, rice or some seed crackers. Or maybe some dosa!!!

Side note – I am going to learn how to make dosa  someday.

Side note II – lentils + rice = complete protein

Anyways, this spicy lentil soup was fairly easy to make and only took about 30 minutes!

lentil soup

Spicy Lentil Soup

Ingredients:

1 TBS Sunflower oil

½ purple onion – chopped

3 large garlic cloves – minced

1 TBS tomato paste

1 TBS curry powder

½ tsp red chili flakes

2 c vegetable broth

2 tomatoes – diced

1 ⅓ c dry green lentils

1 jalapeño – sliced

Handful of cilantro

Spinach or any other leafy green

2 Green onions – chopped

Directions:

1. Heat oil in pot

 

2. Sauté onion and garlic in oil

3. Add tomato paste, curry powder, and red pepper flakes & stir until everything is combined (like the picture below)

4. Add vegetable broth, tomatoes and lentils. Bring to a boil & let simmer on low heat for 30 minutes, until lentils are very tender

5. Remove from heat and add cilantro, green onion, jalapeño, and leafy greens

Enjoy 🙂
This recipe is adapted from Vegangela

3 thoughts on “Spicy Lentil Soup + Sprouting Lentils

Leave a Reply

